Skip to main content

Spring Concert 2024

Our Senior Orchestra Spring Concert features both beloved classics and exciting, ground-breaking music by Sri Lankan/Canadian composer Dinuk Wijeratne. Maestro Wijeratne–he is a conductor, composer, pianist, professor, and polymath-completed his virtuoso orchestral showpiece Polyphonic Lively in 2016. The work was the winner of the 2017 Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia Masterworks Arts Award and was rapturously received by Nova Scotian audiences upon its world premiere. From Wijeratne,

“While browsing through a library book of very vibrant artwork by Paul Klee, the 20th century Swiss-German master, I was struck by the title of one of the paintings: ‘Polyphonic Lively‘ Though the two adjectives back-to-back suggest that something may have been lost in translation, I felt compelled to turn these very vivid and evocative words into music. They immediately conjured up high-vibration, high-intensity ‘chatter’

...As a composer I like to explore the possibility that musical voices, each conveying an idea that is either supportive or subversive, can be allowed to coexist in a way that often eludes us in today’s world. The nature of ‘Polyphonic Lively‘ is character-driven and, through sharp turns and decisive action, its ‘journey’ is simply what the characters make of it. Its musical fabric is a multiplicity of voices, lines, and themes that decide – on a whim – when to coalesce and coexist.”